Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva

Hinduism is among the oldest religions of the world. It has more than 900 million followers, with around 80 percent of the Indian population claiming to be Hindu. Hinduism does not follow a single doctrine or teacher, but recognizes one God and eternal soul called Brahman. The different types of Hinduism recognize different deities.

History of Hinduism

The primary religion of India is divided into three major categories: Shaivism, Vaishnavism, and Shaktism. Hinduism has developed slowly over time, being influenced by many cultures, and has become a way of life focused on understanding of existence, nature, and morality rather than a typical religious structure. History of Hinduism

Hindu Beliefs

Hinduism is not a homogeneous system of organized beliefs and strict rules, as many Hindus have widely varying beliefs. However, most Hindus acknowledge Brahman, the unifying spirit and truth, the Vedas text, and worship the Supreme God, or the divinity of the atman. Hindu Beliefs

Hindu Customs

From meditations and mantras, to diets, holidays, and ceremonies, the Hindu religion is rich with ancient tradition and modern celebrations. Hinduism emphasizes both community and individual worship, and well as the development of one's mind, body and spirit, in a complex lifestyle of devotion. Hindu Customs

Hindu Gods

Hinduism is a pantheistic religion, worshiping the main Universal Soul called Brahman, as well as numerous other smaller gods. The major deities include Brahma the Creator, Vishnu the preserver, Shiva the destroyer who creates the balance of all things, and Shakti the goddess mother. Hindu Gods

Lesser Known Types of Religion

Topics on Religion

Religion and the Law